We are family. 

Do you ever stop and think what it would be like for someone to randomly walk in to your life or household? Ever thought of how adoption works? I know I have. 

Although my story goes a slightly different way. 

When I think of it now, I think nothing even close to adoption, however it has its similarities. My Brother’s best friend is Samoan and they have been friends for as long as I can remember. I can tell you now that I don’t know his full story, all I know is that he moved to Australia at a young age and didn’t have a lot. 

My Brother then basically took him under his wing in a way, something I’m extremely proud of him for doing. He moved in with my Brother and I think he would agree was the best thing for him. 

He is now my third Brother. Not my Brother’s friend or a family friend, he’s my Brother and always will be. He spends Christmas with us, comes to family dinners and still shares a very special friendship with my brother. 

When I think about it, I’m in awe of my parents and Brother. My brother helped his best mate through a hard stage of his life and provided for him and my Parents also leant a helping hand, a big hand. 

My life without my third Brother wouldn’t be the same and I’ll be forever grateful for him. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

